Confront or Not?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Confront or Not?

A very nice, sincere young man came in to my school last night to try out a couple of classes. After he signed the waivers, etc. I started working with him, chatting about his experience and what he's looking for from training with us. He was looking to broaden his experience in MA, but his foundation was "Karate, Pressure Point stuff mostly, studied under George Dillman".
    I bit my tongue, didn't ask a single thing about it (that was hard) and just focused on the sort of introductory stuff we typically show new/prospective students.

Should I try to guide the guy to find out more about Dillman?
    (I am an assistant instructor, not the school owner.)

If so, how to discreetly direct him?

I've never actually met any adult who bought into the Dillman thing, much less trained with the guy...

Confront makes it sound like you are starting with the wrong attitude to approach anyone.

The best thing to do is teach him the correct way unless or until, he really starts talking about the deadly. He's already taking a step in the right direction. If anything, when you spar, suggest he try out the PP stuff in a safe manner.

That will go much further than possibly upsetting a new student.

Comment

I agree with Is it Fake.

If you start informing him directly, he'll most likely take it as one MA style bashing another (considering your an assistant instructor, even though that has nothing to do with it) and that will put him off.

However there's nothing stopping you broading his horizons/view indirectly but pointing him to informed MA sites.

-Ken

Comment

Stick with teaching what you know. It's not your job to crush his fantasies about his deadly pp skills. If anything just make sure he can defend himself with whatever you teach if he finds himself in a situation where he actually needs something that works.

Comment