Your MA and your workplace...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Your MA and your workplace...

Now before I begin I know a number of you on here are instructors, coaches, etc so I'm guessing that the MA you study/teach goes hand in hand with your workplace...

That being said, do any of you find yourselves explaining bruises, black eyes, mat burns, etc to co-workers in a professional work arena?

For me, I bruise like a peach. I work in the medical field and I'm always getting the raised eyebrow from my employees when I come in with a new battle scar. Most of the time basic clothing will cover it but not always.

Anyone else get odd looks in your "normal" life or from peers because of the results of your training?

Has anyone had issues with appearance/etc with where they work?

Funny anecdotes? :icon_geek

Worst one I have is while visiting a patient's home (known previous drug user) with one of my employees his wife touched my upper arm and said that my bruises looked just like the ones her husband used to get when he was using...great.

The only really visable bruise I have received actually was from a work colleague
    Whitsunday Martial Arts Airlie Beach North Queensland.
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/WhitsundayMartialArts

Comment

First rule.

Comment

Caught an elbow one time in the middle of a scramble. The next day one of the anchors says: "Someone kick your ass?"

I mention the scramble. He understands. He wrestled back in school many years ago.

Several people in the newsroom either trained or still do. Even more know I train, so there's no issue, especially since I'm not on camera.

Side Note: Once on the subway in the summer, short sleeves, reading a book, headed to gym, got many looks from other riders like I was a heroin addict because of grip marks on my arms from the previous day's training.

Comment

A while back, I had to show up at work like this:

Comment