How do boxing gloves?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do boxing gloves?

Howdy there, perhaps I suck at search but allow me a newbish question.

How do boxing gloves work? Super stoked to start boxing in a couple weeks and wanna order a pair before classes start. I weigh 160lbs, does that have bearing on what weight of glove I buy? Also what do you folks think about using the same gloves on the bag at home as in sparring, cheap move? Not that id hurt anyone with 2 bricks taped to my hands anyway but I dont wanna buy a pair and get told to buy the right ones.

As a total beginner, just buy a good pair of 16oz hook and loop training gloves (spend at least $35, but no more than $65). As long as they're not bag gloves you can use them for sparring. After you decide for sure you're going to stick with it (like after a month or two of consistent training) you can decide if you have the extra cash to throw in another $45+ for bag gloves (they're better for your hands and will save your sparring gloves from deteriorating as fast since the foam is denser and the gloves are specifically designed for hitting a bag). Getting lace up sparring gloves is also a good option after a while if you do a lot of long sparring sessions since the lace up gloves give better wrist support.

Comment

http://www.mmafactory.co.uk/hayabusa...black-78-p.asp
      They also have great wrist support while retaining the easy to open/close velcro straps.

They do need a bit of use to soften them up before going hard though

Comment

Hmmm while we are on this subject: How do handwraps?

Comment

I have been plugging the following gloves for a while; a lot of guys at my club use it and we are all completely satisfied with them, especially for the price.

http://www.thunderfightgear.com/prod...products_id=31