Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which martial art/mma do you recommend?

Hi all,

This is my first post, so I'd like to thank Bullshido for providing such vast forums to discuss martial arts, especially in the case of ousting what you call "Mcdojos".

I am looking for advice, I am looking for a martial art which involves free sparring and without too many constraints (i.e. throwing and kicking both allowed). Primarily for the use of self-defence.

In the past I have studied a little Judo, and more recently I studied for a short time in Shaolin boxing and Wing chun, but we didn't have free sparring in either, and in particular within Shaolin boxing spent 90% of the time warming up and doing forms. Whats more both seemed to be used as advertising for going to more classes elsewhere (since both were held at uni).

It seems obvious that MMA would answer to my needs, but rumours go round saying its not for self defence rather sport since there's constraints.

I'm not looking to spark a debate just your honest opinion to what you recommend studying.

To my knowledge locally there are the following schools locally: Karate (Shotokan, kyokushin and GKR), Kick Boxing, MMA, Jeet Kune do, TKD, Judo,boxing, wing chun.

Basically most things (Probably a lot more I am unware of!)

I look forward to reading your replies,

Sam

So yeah, there are some constraints to the more sport like martial arts that need to be taken into account in a no-rules environment, but at the end of the day, the same punch-kick-throw you learn to apply to a fully resisting opponent in a gym is going to have the same effect on the streets.

You can learn all the dirty extras once you've gotten the hang of the bread and butter stuff that's allowed in sports fighting, and it's really these ring-legal moves that win fights anyway.