McDojo or nothing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

McDojo or nothing

I found the Bullshido site a few days ago, and it's really opened my eyes. I've been training for several months at the only place that's close and is reasonably priced. It's a TKD dojang with decent equipment and the instructors are nice enough. I'm not sure if it totally qualifies as a McDojo since they never push the money angle. What got me is the 6 year old kid that will have finished his BB by the end of this year. I asked the instructor if it was a junior BB or some kind of BB placeholder until he was older. Nope. It's a real one (if you can call a 6 year old a real BB). I've been thinking a lot about the self defense value of TKD too. I went to a Muay Thai school on my way home from work the other day and was impressed. I mentioned that to my instructor and he says "Yea, I'd like to know some of that if I was in a real fight". Anyway, I'm stuck with this until I can afford to pay for the Carlos Machado BJJ school. It's a hour drive, but worth it I'm sure.

You guys do good work here. I'll try to chime in if I ever have something worthwhile to say.

I think that there's a lot of unwarranted prejudice against TKD and other sporty techniques. If you realize that you're not learning practical defense techniques and simply do it for the exercise/fun if it, there's nothing wrong with any style of MA.

Comment

it seems like you are taking olympic tkd, which is a sport. taking olympic tkd is not for self defense. if your goals are self defense based tkd isn't for you.

also, paying a lot of money and driving that far to train with carlos machado seems quite ridiculous to me. im sure you can find a cheaper and closer bjj or judo school. and you will learn just as much there.

Comment

I went to a Muay Thai school on my way home from work the other day and was impressed. I mentioned that to my instructor and he says "Yea, I'd like to know some of that if I was in a real fight".