Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What to look for in a BJJ School

Hey guys,

Came across your website while looking for a new club to train at, got to say I love the no b/s approach to martial arts you seem to have.

My background is mostly shotokan karate and tkd, with a little hapkido thrown in there. Have done a fair bit of "kinda full contact fighting", basically wear hand and foot protection, hit as hard as you can below the neck, light to the face and head to avoid injury, no kneeing or elbowing, no hitting the groin or knees, leg kicks allowed and ancouraged.

So not what you'd call hard core fighting, but not wussy point fighting either.

Anyway, I'll get to the point, I'm ok on my feet, but as soon as it goes to the ground it's game over. so I've decided that it's time for me to learn some ground skills, and I figure BJJ is the place to go.

But knowing next to nothing about ground fighting I don't know what to look for in a school and a teacher. So if you guys can give me some pointers on how to tell the good teachers apart from the bad ones I'd appreciate it.

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and sparring, I assume. I mean, that's what makes it a BJJ school right?
    Last edited by MEGA JESUS-SAMA; 7/27/2005 11:10am, .

Comment

Originally posted by MEGA JESUS-SAN
      Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and sparring, I assume. I mean, that's what makes it a BJJ school right?

That may have been sarcastic but he should probably look out for schools that have 10+ "arts" on their flyer/window, among them "grappling".

Comment

http://bjj.org/academies/
        this site is sometimes out of date- but this should help

Comment

Look at the students. If you see a group of athletic, enthusiastic, hard-training people -> good.

Ask for tournament participation. Lots of people successfully competing in grappling and/ or MMA -> good.