An instructor's take on Krav Maga

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

An instructor's take on Krav Maga

After reading through another thread on Krav Maga in which I posted, I was most bothered by Strong Machine's statement that "Krav Maga is bullshido distilled to its essence." This comment was based on an article that was written in the Philly Inquirer about Ernie Kirk's Krav Maga PA schools.

I want to respond to a few different criticisms that I've seen in various threads and see if I can answer the questions that people have brought up about Krav Maga. In all fairness I'm a big boy, so please feel free to disagree/flame/bitch/whine/moan/applaud, or do anything else that you see fit. This is just one person's opinion.

My Background
    I think it's important that people know where I am so they don't make any claims of BS on my part. I am currently a Phase B certified instructor through Krav Maga Worldwide (I will explain the instructor system in a bit). I have trained with Krav Maga black belts in both LA and Philadelphia including John Whitman, Michael Margolin, Marni Levine, and Ernie Kirk. I will be more than happy to furnish my instructor credentials to the forum admin if anyone questions this.

Krav Maga History
    Anyone can pick up a copy of the Krav Maga self-defense book out there and get the full history as told by Eyal Yanilov and Darren Levine, but the short story goes somewhat like this. Imi Lichtenfeld developed the system over several decades of fighting on the streets, working with the jewish underground (the Haganah) before the formation of Israel, and then later becoming the chief H2H instructor for the IDF. Darren Levine, the US Chief Instructor for the Krav Maga Association of America (and Krav Maga Worldwide... for all intents and purposes they are the same thing), was a student of Imi's who received a certificate granting him to right to teach Krav Maga in the US.