• Show
Clear All

What is the most effective CMA?

opinions? delusions? evidence?

Rickshaw-do

Comment

From personal experience?

Choy lee fut.

Solid striking style with some wrestling-esqe grappling. The school here turns out some pretty solid fighters.

But then I have little experience with CM besides this and crappy WC.

Comment

The most effective CMA is the one you never learn.

Rudy Reyes > Bear Grylls

Comment

I knew someone would say that, sad but true :D

Comment

san shou

Comment

Any CMA that emphaise training with practicality in mind, would be a good choice.
              Any CMA that train their practioners to be fighters and not hippes, would be good.
              Any CMA that has a complete curriculm of techniques and principles and that apply them on a regular basis in training, against a fully resisting opponent, would be good.

Comment

San Shou

Comment

Originally posted by Osiris
                  Thank you captain obvioyus.
                  :D

There is nothing more important than common sense.
                  There is nothing as under-estimated as common sense.

Comment

There is nothing less common than common sense!

Comment

The Kung Fu/Arnis school I used to train at was pretty tough. We did traditional Sil Lum Kung Fu. We also did a lot of ground fighting, throws, joint locks. Once you trained there a while it was all full resistance and a lot of sparring. I was knocked down plenty of times. I really think it depends on the instructor and how well versed they are in different styles.

But what do I know, I am a noob. i will probably get cussed out for this being my first post.

Comment

San Shou/Sanda is the only thing I can think of...

Comment

The only CMA I've sparred against has been Tai-Chi and I have to say it was pretty good. I got thoroughly pwned at the clinch work. Whether the same would apply to Tai-Chi across the board is another matter.
                          Dedicated to legs and the disrespecting thereof.