Long Island (NY) Dojo Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Long Island (NY) Dojo Advice

I am totally new to Bullshido, however read some articles and was very intrigued and impressed by the quality of the writing. Please refrain from any flames if this sort of thread is unwelcome, simply tell me and let it die.

A little background on me and my situation (Skip if you're not in the mood for a story!): I live in the burbs of New York City, on Long Island. I have been into martial arts as long as I can remember, mostly due to my Dad who although only lived with me for a very short period of my life has taught me and has continued to teach me much of his extensive knowledge of the martial arts. I am not completely certain what ranks he holds in what arts, but I know that he has at least taken some form of Karate, Judo, Aikido, some form of Kung Fu and Kendo as well as being a wrestler (high school). For a few years I tried training in a dojo for the first time in shotokan karate under Olympic silver medallist Howard Friedman (not sure on spelling). Around when I reached green belt, I stepped up my training regiment and gave myself tendonitis in the legs, thusly ending my martial arts career for quite a while. Now I'm almost totally better (still not as flexible as I used to be, but that can be fixed) and am looking to get back into the martial arts scene.

Start here if you don't want to read a story:
    I am looking for any recommendations for schools on Long Island available. I am currently looking at the possibilities of a few schools and of course will investigate/do trial classes before committing. However advice can still go a long way if first hand. So here are the schools in consideration in no order:

The New York Martial Arts Academy (Little Neck) www.nymaa.com/jkd.html