martial artists and musicians

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

martial artists and musicians

I am just curious if anyone out there plays music as well as practices martial arts. Do you have difficulty scheduling time for both? What do you play? Do you play with a group? Have you had to use your skills to protect you and your instrument? Do you have samples of your music?

I am a musician. That is where my nick comes from. My band's name is Empty Hands. I am the guitar player for this band. We play hard rock music ala 7 mary 3 or sevendust or tool. I know I am flamebait for this but if you want to hear what we sound like, you can listen at our website @ http://www.emptyhands.net or http://www.myspace.com/EmptyHands .

Luckily I haven't had to worry about getting jumped after a show, but in a previous band I was in the drummer, and lead singer got stomped by a couple of marines who were pissed that these girl were paying attention to my bandmates and not them.

Just wondering if any other musicians are out there.

Ja

Rei

I used to play trumpet for a surf rock band, then a gypsy jazz trio for a while before starting martial arts. I pretty much stopped playing entirely once all the band members moved away/went to college and never came back and haven't really played at all since. I also produced electronic music for a while but haven't really stuck with that either.

With how much time I put into training I can't see having enough energy or motivation to do both, but I'm lazy and very singularly minded. There are people that work full time, go to school full time and still manage to train regularly so I know it's doable to do both martial arts and practice music.

Comment

Do any famous musicians besides James Maynard Keating practice martial arts?

Edit: Sorry Keenan, I thought he was Irish.

Comment

Elvis.

Comment

Originally posted by Meager
          Elvis.
          HAH!