Halloween Fun (for the kids)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Halloween Fun (for the kids)

Here's my first attempt at a non-standard jack-o-lantern. I usually draw some funky eyes, nose and mouth and just cut it out with a large knife, but this year I got one of those pumpkin masters carving kits (those $3 disposable ones), drew my own template (because the kids wanted Jack Skellington instead of Godzilla), and just gave it a shot.

The photo's bad because I had to take it with the flash off, and I'm not a professional photographer.

I put the food post icon because it's a pumpkin.
    Jaguar's MMA record
    pre Kung Fu and BJJ: 0-0-0
    post Kung Fu and BJJ: 0-0-0 (BOO YAA!!)

We're number one! All others are number two or lower.
    - The Sphinx (Mystery Men)

dude thats a grea jacko lantern.

Comment

Originally posted by Jaguar Wong

I put the food post icon because it's a pumpkin.
      I lol'd

But that is one bad ass jack o' lantern.
      How long did it take ?

Comment

Originally posted by Deliciousness
        I lol'd

But that is one bad ass jack o' lantern.
        How long did it take ?
        It took a while to draw the stupid thing (I drew it on a piece of paper then transfered it to the pumpkin with that perforating tool they provide). I spent like an hour with my sketchbook just figuring out what to do, then when I finally figured it out, I drew the final template in 20 minutes.

The carving was about three hours (including cleaning the pumpkin, cutting the skullcap off and gutting it with an icecream scoop). I never used those carving saws before, so I took my time to make sure I was doing it right. I got the head done in an hour and a half (I at least wanted the kids there for that part), then when I got them to bed, I finished the neck and collar and cleaned up the edges.

I think I'll have to try more than one pumpkin next year...with the Bullshido Bull and whoever the forum nemesis is (Phil, Ashida, or some newcomer).