Wrestling

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wrestling

Can wrestling be used for self defense just as effectively as when you are young as you would when you are older? What are some styles of wrestling that doesnt deteriorate with age? Are there specific techniques? What do others think?

PEACE!
    Ghost of Charles Dickens

Hmm... many old people studies judo. Also a good techniques that doesn't require much practice is "monkey steal the peach" :-)

"I would rather to admit I am a lousy student instead of saying I am the best student because once you thinks you are the best, you see no reason to continue learning"
    I would pick bag work over masturbating, fighting over sex, and KOing someone over having a orgasm!

Comment

I don't think wrestling is one of those styles that you stay good at when you're older, unless you're one of those physically-fit old guys like that Juiceman dude from the infomercials.

When I wrestled in HS, you had to be at least equally strong as your opponent for it to boil down to technique. If your strength or endurance wasn't up to par, you got muscled or worn out and pinned. Certainly, an older person wouldn't be able to match the average mugger strength vs. strength, but that's not to say he could use a wrestling technique here or there to create a chance to escape or do something else.

-------------------------
      Clap your hands everybody,
      if you got what it takes
      'Cause I'm Kurtis Blow
      and I want you to know
      that these are the breaks!
      "The morning glory blooms for an hour. It differs not at heart from the giant pine, which lives for a thousand years."

Comment

Well I would have to agree with you about hs wrestling. When I was on team, I was WAY stronger than average person because I would do physical training in ROTC many time a week then after school go and spin a 15 lbs rifle for a hour then go and do whole two hours of wrestling practice. My record was 14 win and 2 loss.