Need some help on a research project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need some help on a research project

Hi everyone, my name is Steve. I'm a student at DePaul U in Chicago, and I need some assistance on a project I'm doing for this year and possibly my life.

In order for me to graduate, I have to conduct yearlong research on a specific topic for my psychology degree. My particular topic is "Martial Arts as a Method for Behavioral Medicine."

I've already spent 3 months (thanks to A. Yiannikis of UConn) reading articles on this particular topic. I've read several journal articles on the efficacy (or lack thereof) on how martial arts improves mood, reduces aggression, etc. However, I need to take it to the next level of understanding by being able to distinguish between different martial arts, training techniques, and their salient aspects. That way, I will be able to operationally define what a therapeutic martial art is composed of. For example, an Israeli judo expert took 8 children with blindness, severe mental retardation, and a grab bag of other conditions (cerebral palsy, MS, fibromyalgia, etc), gave them a modified form of traditional judo, and they all drastically improved in cognitive and physical ability, even a year after they stopped training!

I am somewhat knowledgeable about martial arts in general, but I'm not familiar with methodologies of other arts: Length of classes, proportion of time devoted to specific activities (meditation, sparring, physical conditioning, technique work, etc). I don't know how much more or less therapeutic a MMA/modern system of martial arts is compared to traditional systems.