Brazilian woman survives brutal assault with BJJ technique

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brazilian woman survives brutal assault with BJJ technique

Sorry about the sensationalist title - I'm not very good with that. Anyway, it's all over the news here in Brazil: the mother of Rayron Gracie, Elaine Caparroz, survived a brutal attack by a man she was just starting a relationship with - Vinicius Batista Serra, a real maniac there. She was beaten for 4 hours. Her bruised face is all over the news - kind of unnecessary exposition if you ask me, but if you want to check it out, feel free. Watch out, though - I got enough rage for the whole couple of months looking at the pictures of her and her place, blood over the walls, ground and furniture.

BJJ champion and a relative to Mrs. Caparroz, Kyra Gracie spoke about the incident and stated that, since Mrs. Caparroz was used to watching BJJ matches, she might have developed a sense of how to defend herself in that situation, even though she didn't have formal training, and that it might have helped save her life. I believe she might actually be right on that. Authorities have stated that the assaulter tried to strangle her a couple of times, even attacking her arms and biting her, so that she would stop protecting her neck.