Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Brain damage in boxing and other striking arts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brain damage in boxing and other striking arts?

I read about boxers who die from brain injuries in the ring several times a year, and many veteran boxers obviously have taken permanent brain damage. Eventually, I'd like to get some skills at standup striking, but as a professional scientist, I really can't afford to lose too many brain cells.
    My question is, is there a level of boxing training at which brain damage is not an issue? Are other striking arts better in that respect? I suppose Muay Thai, Kyokushin etc focus more on damage to the body, but those kicks to the head don't look nice either...
    There are no wrong threats, only wrong answers. (Strategy game truism)

I boxed in my early college days and did a report on boxing and brain injury. It's not the big KO blows that do it, it's the constant little taps, from the research I did. I also found reports and studies that said headgear makes it worse (the added weight keeps the neck from stabalizing the head properly) and boxing gloves provide no protection (the design is to protect the wearer, not the guy being hit). I've had 4 concussions, and my doctors tell me: 1) It's cumulative, all the little blows add up, 2) Once you get the first one, it's easier to get the next, and the third is easier than that, and so on.

I'll see if I can find the report I did and list some of the sources I used.

Having met a fair number of boxers and kickboxers, as a whole, the kickboxers seemed more coherent mentally. But, I can't say if that is from the boxing, or were they not right to start with.
    "Quiet fool before I am kicking the butt!"
    -My three year old trash talking to me

"Integrity can't be bought or sold---you either have it or you don't."
    -The Honky Tonk Man

"If you can't be a shining example, at least be a dire warning."
    -My Father to me one day