PDA

View Full Version : Newbie hapkido question

Pages : [1] 2

prnz
9/06/2010 3:34pm,
I started taking Hapkido lessons about a month ago and I have some questions that I would feel embarrassed asking the instructor. I figure you guys might be able to provide some insight. For background, I'm very new to all of this, with no prior experience.

I notice that Hapkido likes to slap, e.g. like a backhanded bitch slap. Is this actually effective? I've never actually been bitch slapped nor have I bitch slapped someone but I can't imagine that this would be as effective as punching someone. What's the rationale here?
What's with the silly breathing exercises where you crouch and lift your hands and such?
There is a ton of emphasis in my school on learning to counter wrist grabs, etc., and what I infer is that by focusing on this I am gradually learning the situational awareness necessary to be able to apply the concepts from the techniques in scenarios in which you are not actually being grabbed. (How often does that happen to a man?) Is this method of instruction justified or impractical, in your opinion?
I really went into this just because I was looking to have fun, and I think it is fun, but I still would like some day to be at a level where I am proficient. How practicable is what I am learning? After a year? Two years? Etc.?
Do any out of classroom resources exist that would help my development in the classroom?
What else should I know that I might not be asking?

duralmaru
9/08/2010 12:36pm,
How many techniques does your school have? Do you practice rolling and break falls yet?
Breathing is very important so those exercises are good.

Is there technique in your school to defend against punches and kicks?

Petter
9/08/2010 1:45pm,