PDA

View Full Version : BJJ Noob - Gassing advice?

Pages : [1] 2

Finnegan
6/23/2010 6:09pm,
Any advice for a noob on how to avoid gassing? I’ve been doing BJJ for ~4 months now and just started sparring this week (at the GB school I’m at they make you stay in the fundamentals class for the first few months before allowing you to spar in the advanced class) and am gassing depressingly fast. I try to focus on breathing, relaxing, not getting tunnel vision on any particular grip or technique and in the process using too much muscle or spazzing but it always seems to end up going out the window after we change partners a couple times.

I’ve been pretty active my whole life and consider myself slightly above average when it comes to cardio (pretty strong long distance runner and cyclist – but I’m pretty scrawny for my heighth and could stand to hit the weights) so it’s frustrating to gas so quick on the mats. My instinct is to hit the pavement and up my running mileage but that doesn’t seem quite right. I know I should probably lift weights but right now lifting is the last thing I feel like doing since I’m so freaking sore from getting my ass kicked. Suck it up and hit the weights anyway?

No doubt that more time on the mats will help (my coaches say “just keep on coming to class” . . . which I plan on doing) but does anyone have any advice for a noob?

Petter
6/23/2010 6:26pm,
No doubt that more time on the mats will help (my coaches say “just keep on coming to class” . . . which I plan on doing) but does anyone have any advice for a noob?
Sure: …Just keep coming to class.

Seriously, the one thing I keep hearing is that when it comes to endurance, specificity is king. Nothing will build up your BJJ endurance like doing more BJJ. Not only will you be working the right muscles in the right ways, you will also learn the million little tricks no one thinks about or teaches, exactly when to relax and how to pace yourself.