PDA

View Full Version : I want to learn; Schools in NYC?

slowbro
5/18/2010 10:08pm,
I have no MA experience to speak of and I've never been in a fight. I am moving to NYC and will have some free time on my hands, so I thought I should learn Aikido ... Until I googled "Aikido Sucks" and landed here.

I'll be in NYC in a few months. I don't care what MA I learn, but I do want it to be self-defense oriented. I'll be traveling to a few third-world countries early next year and would like to be physically and mentally confident.

I read the Finding a Good Martial Arts School post but I would like specific advice on finding a school in NYC that can teach me some self-defense in a hurry AND one that I can continue with for a few years (after I get back from traveling).

TL;DR: Help! I've never been in a fight and need a good school in NYC for self-defense!!

BTW. I really dig the bullshido vibe around here. Looks like you've got an awesome community.

PizDoff
5/20/2010 12:47pm,
Welcome to the site.

Why are you so worried about self defense and being in a fight?

phunbaba
5/20/2010 1:42pm,
Hello, I am new here as well and am also looking for schools in NYC. I can not afford more than $200 a month so Renzo's is out. I also need a school that has morning classes. I have looked at the different schools online but was hoping someone here might have some recommendations to help narrow my search?

Rene "Zendokan" Gysenbergs
5/20/2010 2:20pm,
I would suggest the Combat SAMBO school of Stephen Koepfer.
Stephen posts here on BS.net under the name "sambosteve", so you can ask him for more information.

Feel free to come by his school. www.nycombatsambo.com (http://www.nycombatsambo.com)

With kind regards,
Zendo

Mtripp
5/20/2010 2:27pm,
I would suggest the Combat SAMBO school of Stephen Koepfer.
Stephen posts here on BS.net under the name "sambosteve", so you can ask him for more information.

Feel free to come by his school. www.nycombatsambo.com (http://www.nycombatsambo.com)