PDA

View Full Version : Working out & Unable to sleep

Pages : [1] 2

badacid
4/14/2010 2:00pm,
Hello,

I recently started training again and am very out of shape. Yesterday I went through a grappling class & part of a boxing class.

I was dead tired - Not broken but bent pretty far.

Last Night I couldn't sleep - it felt as if my muscles were radiating heat and I couldn't get comfortable.

I was tired and trying to sleep, but it felt as if a very small voltage was going through my body - just reminding me that I worked out harder than normal.

Anyone else experience this? Or know of why this happens?

Thanks!

Kintanon
4/14/2010 2:03pm,
Drink more water, and take a hot shower before you go to bed.

pauli
4/14/2010 2:16pm,
or a cool one - sounds like your muscles were more inflamed than simply sore.

and some ibuprofen.

Snake Plissken
4/14/2010 2:17pm,
I would say at least one-half of the time I get home from training, I am all jacked-up.
What helps me is to have a routine.

I get home and if there was anything that I really, really needed to go over in my mind or physically work out, I do it right when I get home. This is, for my, always my worst enemy:
having my mind replay scenarios when I am trying to unwind and get to sleep.

After that, I take a nice long hot shower and put on some fresh clothes, physically and mentally putting aside what I just did.

Then I eat. I cannot eat closer then two hours before training. That, coupled with my pretty much going right from work to training, means I eat after. Yeah, there is negatives to eating that late but this is what works for me and this is my *routine*. This is what my body is accustomed to.

After that, I sit and start watching one of my many unwatched blu-rays while I sip a cup of Chai Tea or coffee and continue to follow the routine of physically and mentally unwinding.