PDA

View Full Version : Greetings! And please don't tackle me!*

Pages : [1] 2

Oonjuk
4/09/2010 5:48pm,
Greetings, I am a college student in second year of practicing Aikido in a student club.

I practice MA mostly for health reasons rather than to kick ass.

I have been constantly moving from one country to another so I only had limited amount of martial arts experience in each country which include:
-1 year each of TKD and HKD when I was living in Korea just like any Korean boys who were around town. (sadly I don't remember anything from these two)
-Practiced for rather short period of 6 month at Aikido Federation (Singapore) until SARS broke out and I had to stay away from crowded public areas.
-Now I am practicing Aikido in college in US.

I wanted to actually take Taekkyon as my main style (due to striking similarities to Korean mask dance and Korean Farmers' drumming, which I perform) and supplement it with Aikido, but obviously Taekkyon is almost nonexistent in US so somehow my intended supplement style became the main style. I am eagerly waiting for the day I return to Korea and learn Taekkyon.

I am also very interested in Taichi and Kungfu.

*p.s. regarding the title: One day I was cross training in an Eskrima class, and I found out another fella who was cross training. Upon finding out that my main style was Aikido and his was BJJ/Wrestling, he called Aikido utter BS and just randomly tackled me down to the floor saying "Try blocking this!" As an Aikidoka, I wasn't too familiar being on ground, but I calmly applied nikkyo on his throat so he would choke and release me. After that day, I politely ask other MA guys not to tackle me unless it is intended for sparring or training. Being tackled just because this fella thought Aikido is BS was BS.

PizDoff
4/10/2010 12:22am,
Welcome to the site, what college you studying at?

Oonjuk
4/10/2010 12:24am,
Hi, I attend Rutgers University, NJ.

Omega Supreme
4/10/2010 12:29am,
....fag.

Rock Ape
4/10/2010 12:44am,