PDA

View Full Version : Jackie Chan Speaks on MMA

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

nightowl
1/20/2010 7:20pm,
Reported on Sherdog (http://www.sherdog.com/news/articles/Jackie-Chan-Does-Not-Like-MMA-22150)

ďI donít like to see Ultimate Fighting.....As a martial artist, I find it too violent putting them in a cage. At the end, itís not fighting anymore. Thatís not the martial arts. Martial arts is about respect. When somebody is knocked down, stop. I really respect Sugar Ray Leonard. Come on, [when a guy is down] stop. Donít fight. Thatís not the spirit. When youíre down, Iíll grab you up. Are you okay? Should we continue? Thatís the martial arts spirit. Thatís what I want.Ē

There is no ground and pound in Drunken Boxing.

Demon Eyes
1/20/2010 7:31pm,
It's just the classic honorable ideals of fighting. Can't really hold it against him. It's those opinions I can respect. All a matter of taste when speaking about competition. It could've been worse. Can you imagine if Jackie said something along the "Too D3adly" argument?

Hooded Justice
1/20/2010 7:49pm,
It's just the classic honorable ideals of fighting. Can't really hold it against him. It's those opinions I can respect. All a matter of taste when speaking about competition. It could've been worse. Can you imagine if Jackie said something along the "Too D3adly" argument?

Sounds like Jackie Chan saying he prefers Sanda/Sanshou/Kickboxing to MMA. Yeah could have been a lot worse he could have mentioned chi.

OiScout
1/20/2010 7:58pm,
Sounds like Jackie Chan saying he prefers Sanda/Sanshou/Kickboxing to MMA. Yeah could have been a lot worse he could have mentioned chi.

Hell, he's not a young guy either, so he might have that certain mindset. If you ask people of an older generation, they'd probably say the same thing, and that anything aside from punching is dirty.

G-Off
1/20/2010 8:14pm,
Not too surprising.