PDA

View Full Version : Yep, another noob!

captainzorikh
1/14/2010 1:46pm,
Hi folks, just discovered this website, though I have been amusing myself with some of the Bullshido YouTube videos for a couple of years now.

I consider myself to be more of a combat sport recreationist than an athlete or martial artist. I primarily do it for fun or to get something out of it in addition to the pure focus on the activity itself. For instance, I have been fighting in the SCA for about 23 years now, and some of the primary reasoins is because I love history, the concept of chivalry, and I think that medieval armor and clothing is cool to wear. I also enjoy the creative and social aspect of the club (the feasts, singing and dancing, building armor, creating art, drinking, partying, and enjoying the company of one's prefered gender, etc).

I have also studied stage combat and done plays and movies with it.

About 3 years ago I got into grappling through the fetish scene with my girlfriend (story for another time), and we started training in it and building a business around it together. We have gone our seperate ways, her and I, both in our use of it and intensity of training (we also broke up and are no longer business partners, but that's another story).

I am working on a movie built around submission grappling, and discovered many of its varieties and how it can be used as a physical movement vocabulary to tell stories as well as any form of movement or dance can. The "mainstream" martial arts (kung fu, karate, etc) have been accepted as a part of dance for decades, and the striking arts have been incorporated into the stage combat curriculum, so I feel that grappling, with it's growing popularity and potential for unique physical cooperation, has potential to be the Next Big Thing.