PDA

View Full Version : First Post -- Wudang Mountain?

Pages : [1] 2

Beast1989
12/01/2009 6:25pm,
Hello,

I just joined up with this forum today. So far I have lurked around the CMA threads and noticed some pretty solid posters. 'Omega The Merciless', if you read this, your story about how you transitioned to MMA was pretty cool.

Personally, I have never practiced CMA, my background is mainly in a style called Kumo Jiu Jitsu, 'Kumo' meaning 'Spider' in Japanese. Similar in practice to BJJ but with some very noticable differences. Other then that it has been mostly MMA and Muay Thai for me. Oddly enough I had no clue what MMA or even Jiu Jitsu was when I started training.

Anyway, I do have an interest in CMA as well. The GM I train with has a wide and diverse background which includes Kung Fu. My main interest is in Qi Gong.

Several years ago I was givene a book called "The Healing Art of Qi Gong" by Master Hong Liu. The book captivated me and I began practising the exercises that he teaches in the book and also researching the art in general. I am fascinated by the abilities of people who practice Qi Gong to withstand strikes and also to recover from injury or training. One person in particular who has caught my attention is a man by the name of Steve Cotter. If you don't know who he is, look him up on youtube. The guy is an absolute machine.

So, to get to the point of this post, I have been looking for a place that I can study qi gong full time for awhile. Right now I live in Canada but have socked away a fair bit of money to go just about anywhere. One school that I have been looking at quite extensively is the "Wudang Traditional Kung Fu Academy" in China. The website is www.wudanggongfu.com (http://www.wudanggongfu.com)