PDA

View Full Version : Moving north to St. Louis Metro East next fall

Austin89
11/10/2009 11:19am,
Hello everybody. I suppose I best introduce myself first. My name is Austin. I am a big guy (6', ~350lbs but trying to drop that). I am a 19 yo college student. I currently live about 75 miles from STL. I am planning on transferring to McKendree University next fall which is about 20 miles outside of St. Louis (IL side).

I have no experience in Martial Arts but I am extremely interested in taking classes. I have a few interests. Those mainly consist of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, Muay Thai, and MMA. I was wondering if anyone know of any good schools in the area?

I'd prefer not to drive more that 30 miles/45 minutes if I could help it as I am a college student so money/time is important.

Any help will be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance.

KO'd N DOA
11/12/2009 4:46pm,
Hey Austin89,

Welcome to Bullshido. Trusting that you are finding some of what you were looking for. I'm not familiar with the St. Louis area, however any of those styles you mentioned should bring out those who might no.

I know your only 19, but with your size you might want to ease into things and don't over do the workout. Your joints will thank you.

All the best.

KO'd

Austin89
11/15/2009 8:13pm,
Hey Austin89,

Welcome to Bullshido. Trusting that you are finding some of what you were looking for. I'm not familiar with the St. Louis area, however any of those styles you mentioned should bring out those who might no.

I know your only 19, but with your size you might want to ease into things and don't over do the workout. Your joints will thank you.

All the best.

KO'd

Thanks for the reply. I do plan to ease into it. Nothing to heavy, too quick.

BackFistMonkey
11/15/2009 8:21pm,
Thanks for the reply. I do plan to ease into it. Nothing to heavy, too quick.

According to my calculations you are (now) pretty close to where I am moving from (western ky) .