PDA

View Full Version : Hello Newbie here who is embaressed with the style he studies

Dark Fire
8/12/2009 11:42am,
I am embarrassed to admit this, but I study Tomiki Aikido which is otherwise known as Shodokan Aikido. I am embarrassed because I know Aikido has a terrible reputation and after seeing the Aikikai guys it's easy to see why. I have become disillusioned with it and I hope to hear what you guys have to say. The thing is though is that Tomiki Aikido is relatively unknown and I was hoping you could hear my case after I tell what I think I know on the history of it.

However, I really think Tomiki Aikido is different from the Aikikai version of it. Here's the history of it as I understand it. Kenji Tomiki was a, I think sixth degree, black belt with Kano. Then supposedly after hearing about Ueshiba and his art Kano sent Tomiki to train with Ueshiba. At this time what Ueshiba was practicing was still considered Daito-Ryu aiki-jujutsu. Tomiki was the first person Ueshiba ever awarded a black belt to. I will admit I am a bit hazy on what happened after Tomiki got his black belt, but I know somehow he ended up at Waseda University where he wanted to establish Aikido as a sport. There is much controversy here because people argue on whether it was Ueshiba that blacklisted Tomiki or whether it was the followers of Ueshiba that would become the Aikikai after Ueshiba died. I would like to think it was the followers because even after Tomiki established the sport Ueshiba still made an effort to come and visit Tomiki. However that is hardly evidence and is heavily dependent on my personal views. Then when Ueshiba died, normally the person with the highest belt is supposed to take over. That person would of been Tomiki, but he was blacklisted either by Ueshiba or his followers who did not let him head the organization and instead chose Ueshiba's son to do that. Strange huh, maybe Aikido would have a better reputation if Tomiki was in charge.