PDA

View Full Version : Sport Psychology in Martial Arts Competition

johnevans
7/22/2009 6:41pm,
I wasn't sure where this topic fit in, so I decided to post it in newbie-town.

I'm a graduate student in clinical psychology, with an additional interest in sport psychology. Sport psychologists are part of the training process for many major professional athletic teams now, and help athletes to recover from injury, practice more effectively, and improve their in-game performance through the use of a variety of psychological techniques. However, I have never read/seen/heard about the use of sport psychologists in training for MMA or other martial arts competitions. I imagine that olympic teams such as TKD and Judo employ sport psychologists, but I am not sure.

Does anyone know anything about the use of psychology in martial arts training?

I am also wondering what people's opinions are about the role of psychology in martial arts training. Has anyone used psych. techniques to help improve their game (i.e. meditation, hypnosis, visual imagery/rehearsal, relaxation training)?

1point2
7/22/2009 7:40pm,
Try http://combatsportpsychology.blogspot.com/

I've used visualization and breathing techniques in competition and sparring. I like brief periods of meditation--mokuso or just a pause between rounds--as well as positive self-reinforcement.

This can be used by instructors and higher ranks as well. "HE WILL NOT PASS YOUR GUARD!"

selfcritical
7/23/2009 12:26am,
GSP employs one.

Basically GSP is Ivan Drago, except he crushed Rocky's tiny Italian ribs in the sequel.

johnevans
7/23/2009 10:48am,
GSP is an amazing athelete. Are you aware of what sort of stuff his psychologist does with him? or the name of his psychologist so that I can look up any publications he might have?

Even if we don't know who the psychologist is/what he does, speculations are welcome.

johnevans
7/23/2009 11:00am,
http://www.askmen.com/sports/bodybuilding_200/212b_fitness_tip.html