PDA

View Full Version : Training at two different gyms

Bahuyuddha
7/20/2009 6:06pm,
I'm back after a little time off from Bullshido.

I have a question about protocol when training at two different gyms.

I've been training MT for 3 years at a gym that offers MT and no-gi BJJ (they don't do gi BJJ there). I took a few BJJ classes there, but not regularly, and spread out over a year or so. I would still put myself at total beginner level in BJJ at the end of it.

Four months ago the MT gym closed for some renovations, so for the last 3 months I have been training gi and no-gi BJJ at a different gym. Now the MT gym has re-opened and I've resumed MT training, but I continue to train BJJ at the other gym because I like the trainer, the other students, and the gi training. I've been training regularly and feel like I'm making good progress.

If I were to compete in MT, of course I would compete under the MT gym's name. If I were to compete in BJJ some day (I'm very new at it, so it's way down the road), I would compete under the BJJ school's name. However, I would feel a little weird about it, considering that I might end up competing against some of my friends at the MT/BJJ gym. Not a huge issue though, as it wouldn't happen if I competed in a gi tournament; none of the no-gi guys would be likely to be there anyway.

The problem would come if I decided to compete in MMA some day. I could see doing smokers or maybe amateur matches at some point. Would I list myself as training under both gyms? Is this common? My sense from asking around is that it's kind of frowned upon.

I'm not losing any sleep over this (neither would either trainer, I'm sure; they aren't exactly betting their reputations on my performance). I'm just curious.

Thanks in advance.

(Apologies if this has been discussed before; I searched for other threads on this topic but was having trouble narrowing down the search results.)

datdamnmachine
7/20/2009 6:57pm,