PDA

View Full Version : UFC 2009: Undisputed. Video Game.

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Kovacs
7/16/2009 7:27am,
Hi, I don't know if there's a thread out there on this game already but I was wondering if anyones played/got it?

I started playing a week ago and am getting on with it pretty well. It's still very much a 'sim' fighting game so it's reasonably realistic and takes a while to learn everything the game has to offer.

The stand up fighting vastly improved over the previous UFC titles and most boxing titles and finally... the ground game makes sense. Well, sort of; Transitions are a bit random but striking and submissions are very easy to pull off now.

All in all it's really good fighting sim, the best UFC/MMA game so far (fair enough, there's not a huge back catalogue) and the in depth fighter creation makes for some hilarious if spooky match ups.

vile_zoidberg
7/16/2009 8:47am,
Own it. "My judo throws are the best..." aptly describes my general plan: clinch, insane WTFjudo throw to sidecontrol, mount, then beautiful GnP.

Kovacs
7/16/2009 9:52am,
I know what you mean. As soon as the GnP is engaged in that close mount it's curtains.

I picked BJJ for grappling so I have to get them down the old fashioned way (Punch/Kick/Shoot/Rinse/Repeat) but I'm certainly using Judo next time round.

vile_zoidberg
7/16/2009 11:33am,
And the judo style has a sweet mount escape for when your opponent tries to GnP you.

ysc87
7/16/2009 11:47am,
I hear the thai clinch is a little overpowered.

Kovacs
7/16/2009 11:58am,
And the judo style has a sweet mount escape for when your opponent tries to GnP you.

Ah I need that, every fight I've lost is becouse I failed to sprawl quick enough and GnP'd.

So far ysc87, I've found the clinches okay but the Muay Thai whip/knee can make some mysterious knock-outs, it seems a bit over powered but I guess that depends on the stats you're fed into your fighter. Good if you're using a MT fighter I suppose.

foxd
7/16/2009 2:56pm,