PDA

View Full Version : Starting with private lessons as a total noob?

citadels
5/19/2009 1:37pm,
Hey. I have no martial arts experience and I'm interested in Muay Thai. I'm considering starting off with private lessons because I figure I'll progress more rapidly, and be less likely to get demoralized and quit. Am I on the right track here, or am I better off in a group setting starting out?

Also, I'm 24, ten to fifteen pounds overweight, and haven't exercised regularly in months. Would it be a good idea to just hit the gym for a couple weeks and get a little bit of conditioning in before I get started? I've read the workouts in Muay Thai are pretty demanding, which is one of the reasons I'm interested, but I don't want to spend the whole first class gasping for air necessarily. Or is that just standard for everybody?

I'm in Chicago btw, if anyone is from the area or can recommend a place to train here I'd appreciate it. Thanks a lot.

Sang
5/19/2009 1:49pm,
How much spare cash do you have? If an extra 100 a week is pocket change to you then take the private lessons as well as the classes. You probably would progress marginally quicker initially just taking lessons but you'll also miss out on a great aspect of starting from scratch in a gym.

You say you are worried about losing motivation and quitting, when you workout in a class setting you quickly make friends, typically the couple of guys who hold pads for you. Then as you progress and 80% of the class you started with drops out you quickly become part of a core group of beginners who provide very strong motivation to continue. i'd say a good 50% of my motivation to go in each day to the gym is to not let my buddies down (half of who i can't remember their names) and to socialize.

If you just take private sessions you might miss out on this aspect and become disinterested.

Sang
5/19/2009 1:51pm,