PDA

View Full Version : Noob Question....

Exilict
5/12/2009 1:00pm,
I started training MMA after 6 years off from Martial Arts. Other then the obvious problems one has after taking 6 years off I have one specific problem that I feel is fixable but I can not find an answer...

When on the mats, my foot sweat is making me lose all traction. Even simple kicks and slides are becoming very difficult as I stand in pools of my own sweat. I assume I am not the only person in the world with this problem, a quick google search brought me to Grapple Socks : http://www.grapplesock.com/ however; they only go up to size 11, 5 sizes short of what I would need.

Is there a way to deal with this? Even when I wrapped my feet I never put tape over the balls of my feet (Where I am losing the most traction) I assume I could if needed to but have no idea if there is a proper technique to it.

Thanks
X

Matt Phillips
5/12/2009 1:08pm,
Get some thai "ankle supporters". That should do the trick.

KO'd N DOA
5/12/2009 1:14pm,
Hello Mr. E, Welcome to BS...

Hope you find what your answers. I got nothing but hello for your problesm.

Never saw the socks before...wow. Not in your size? Size 16???
I only wrapped broken toes, so I have no idea about the ball. Had some massive blisters and cracked callouses where I used "plastic Skin" to hold them together while they healed.

Good luck with it.

Exilict
5/12/2009 1:19pm,
Get some thai "ankle supporters". That should do the trick.

This is very much how I wrap my feet. From right behind the balls of my feet to the ankle's. I find myself slipping from the balls of my feet. My shin guards also cover the same area and provide little assistance.

Thank you.

ignatzami
5/12/2009 1:39pm,
This is very much how I wrap my feet. From right behind the balls of my feet to the ankle's. I find myself slipping from the balls of my feet. My shin guards also cover the same area and provide little assistance.

Thank you.