PDA

View Full Version : Misadventures with Master Cho

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Karritto
4/15/2009 11:38am,
...Or My Misadventures with Master Cho...

I don't know if this thread belongs in this forum, but I have to comment on this guy. I am a college student at Ohio University and signed upf or tae kwon do as a physical ellective amongst my other classes. It's taught by this guy called Mun-ho Cho. He also runs a tae kwon do school near my house.

Anyway, he's met me before and knows I do karate. Several times in the class he's got on my about my kicks. Granted, my kicking sucks I know. I'm trying to improve them. But today after class, he pulled me aside asking me about my school. He said you practiced karate for how long and what has it done for you (referring to my feet and hips nto turning enough when I kick). He also asked me why I pay $40 a month there and then $60 to box at another place and then went on about trying me to think about going to his school twice a week.

I told him I didn't agree with charging students a lump sum for belt testing. Then he went on saying he didn't think I udnerstand about belts nor real cirtificates. The fact is I do understand more than he realizes and I have a certificate from Shuri-ryu.

Right now I feel deeply insulted. If anyone should be to blame for my kicking, it's myself for not practicing with them as much as I should. I felt Master Cho had no right to insult my school when I was taking his class for college credit, not at his McDojang. I can't join a school that charegs an arm and a leg for testing. It goes against my principles, just as insulting a school in a college class.

Cougar Spirit
4/15/2009 11:45am,
Karritto,