PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice,Judo,MMA,Karate,just not Aikido.

Pages : [1] 2 3

KingSakana
4/08/2009 12:46am,
I didn't know were to post this so Newbie Town was the first thing to come to mind. I need some advice, I've been practicing Aikido for two months now and putting the hours in, even sparring with my sisters boyfriend whos in the marines. I was hoping i found what i was looking for, but I've run into a brick wall. My background is Rugby which i've been playing since i was 16,(im 21 now). I spend three times a week at gym for three hours. I've found my Aikido techniques to not be useful, since i had to make alot of corrections when i was sparring. Im currently looking into BJJ, Muay Thai, Kyokushin Karate, judo or JuJutsu traditional, (but havent been successful in the traditional japanese ma department) my father was a Judo man. Any advice would helpful and much appreciated, also is working on my chi helpful:ninja7:?

Marcusn
4/08/2009 10:14am,
I believe it all depends on what you want to work on since most of those differ in what their main focus are. And it also depends on whether the gyms near you teach those well.

I'm new as well and though there are many different MA gyms/dojos in my area, I've narrowed it down to very few that work both with my schedule and seem checking out.

That being said, what exactly are you looking for?

SBG-ape
4/08/2009 10:33am,
Japanese Jujutsu is way to variable in terms of quality & emphasis to make any sort of guess about. For that reason alone I'd say steer clear until you have enough functional training to be able to quickly evaluate what's there.

Judo will help your Rugby game. You'll get a lot of useful stuff on throwing people around & making them fall down. You'll also get how to hold people down, choke them & bend their arms the wrong way. All fun stuff.