PDA

View Full Version : Guard for a short guy

Pages : [1] 2

Arthur
4/05/2009 1:10am,
Hi all,

This is my first post. I have been doing BJJ now for only a few months and love it. My problem is I'm built short and squat. Very strong but stubby legs and I find it near impossible to close guard on a resisting opponent of any size. What should my game plan be?

JohnnyCache
4/05/2009 1:23am,
Hi all,

This is my first post. I have been doing BJJ now for only a few months and love it. My problem is I'm built short and squat. Very strong but stubby legs and I find it near impossible to close guard on a resisting opponent of any size. What should my game plan be?

I'm 6'4" and I thought my legs were too short for groundwork until I found better angles. Good geometry can make your legs grow 6"

Ka-Bar
4/05/2009 1:57am,
I'm a relative noob as well, so take my advice with a grain of salt, but I have short stubby legs like you. The things that will improve your guard immensely are leg strength and flexibility. After you spend more time in BJJ, your legs will become BJJ-strong, developing strength and endurance in your hamstrings and calves, which will allow you to have a stronger guard. Increasing your flexibility will allow you to "open up" your hips more, keeping your opponent closer to you.

I play a lot of high guard because I find it give me more control over my opponent and gives me more opportunities for sweeps.

For the time being, keep your butt off the mat and your knees out, and squeeze your heels toward your butt to keep your hips close to your opponents'.

Skillful
4/05/2009 7:25am,