PDA

View Full Version : new guy from israel, with a question

Pages : [1] 2

Gidi
3/12/2009 10:04am,
Hello Bullshido.
Been lurking for quite a while, and decided to join.
first off i'm an Israeli and a veteran of the IDF (as well as on active reserves), i was in the army a shooting instructor (probably the best self defense system, but they take away your rifle when you're done).
anyhow, I trained as a kid for 3 years in classical goju-ryu karate, and then in high-school I trained in traditional Ji do Kwan (http://www.jidokwan.com.au/) for about 3-4 years, on and off with army service. the JDK training was great, specially for the attitude and the fact it had nothing to do with olympic TKD, but we sparred all the time, and the teacher brought a lot of stuff from kyokushin, so we were doing low-kicks and all sorts of stuff. this long paragraph, was just to remind people that some TKD schools are good, so long as they have a good attitude and they teach well...
now I'm in my last year of university, and I'm dying to get back to training, the only decent school I found was AKBAN (http://www.akban.org) which is a superb school, that really does teach just about everything, lots of judo and BJJ, along with some striking, with zero bullshit handed to you. Unfortunately that didn't fit in to my school schedule so i had to leave after 4 classes.
the problem is I have a medical problem with strikes to the abdomen, as they can be particularly dangerous to me, so what i really want to learn is Judo, but it's hard to find a judo school in Israel that teaches adults... (i may have found one!).
my question is do people who do grapple, think there's a danger of getting struck in the abdomen while grappling? i have strong abs, and no problem exerting myself but a strong roundhouse could send me to the hospital... so any suggestions or opinions are welcomed.
thanks, and sorry this was so long...

WhiteShark
3/12/2009 11:00am,