PDA

View Full Version : The Scorching Soul

Dragon_Soul
1/20/2009 12:51pm,
Hey everyone, just wanted to make my intro. I live about 15 minutes from Kansas City Missouri in Grandview. I studied little of karate as a kid, now i study Jun Fan Gung Fu/Jeet Kune Do and Junsado at home. I'm a certified Waiest Journeyman at the Way Center. I enjoy philosophy. My favorite books are "Tao of Jeet Kune Do" by Bruce Lee, "Combat Strategy: Junsado, the Way of the Warrior" by Sang H. Kim, "The Art of Peace" by Morihei Uyeshiba, and "The Way of the Middle Path" by Robert Wiest.

I know, I know, self taught people are frowned upon around here, don't burn me too bad lol. I just joined to hear some ideas and discuss martial arts without all the BS that some of the traditional schools around Grandview try to feed me. Catch ya around the forums!

Peace

KungFuBot
1/20/2009 12:52pm,
Welcome to the Bullshido Forums Dragon_Soul... Make sure you review your dojo (http://www.bullshido.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=83) and add it to your user control panel so you can get the http://www.bullshido.net/images/dojoreview1.gif icon in your user info bar in your posts.

Lonestar
1/20/2009 1:26pm,
Yeah...trust me. I was once a paperback martial artist as well; it is crap. Training at mcdojo is better than being a paperback. In fact Bruce Lee's book there is useless to you. Why? Because, as you should have noticed when you read it, it is written "to clean up a mess". It is not for someone starting from the ground up. It is for the experianced martial artist and that is who all the good books are for.

Go back to karate. Any karate school should give you some good sparring.

Dragon_Soul
1/20/2009 1:39pm,