PDA

View Full Version : Hey Everyone

Pages : [1] 2 3

WushuJames
1/17/2009 6:15pm,
Hey Guys,

long time reader and few years of martial arts primarily in Kung Fu and Tai Chi (yeah I know what you're all thinking - that's ****), I have studied Wushu, Hung Fut and Yang Tai Chi. I am studying now and not training in martial arts but am looking into martial arts schools in my local area (South eastern Melbourne, Victoria - Australia). I have found a school that teaches kiaido ryu karate that I think looks ok but I'm still gonna keep looking because it seems full of egos.

If anyone knows good clubs in the area that I'm in or about that style of karate please tell me.

Thanks WushuJames.

AikidoBot
1/17/2009 6:16pm,
BULL RUSH ON WushuJames!!!

sochin101
1/17/2009 6:27pm,
There are a few Melbourne Bullies hanging around (and Aussies in general), so hopefully one will spot your thread and offer some advice.

Welcome to Bullshido,

What sort of training are you looking for? Stand-up striking? Grappling? Mixture?

WushuJames
1/17/2009 6:34pm,
Im 6'3 about huge build and I have been told that I should look into jujitsu and aikido cos they are more grappling than moving around. Id really like to learn self defense for the street and think that a mixture would be suitable for me to feel confident in all situations. Id like to learn knife defence and other things like that too. I think that if I have learned anything from martial arts is that it is the people that make the club so that is the most important thing to me so Im looking for a place that is not run and filled with rough nuts.

Thanks for the fast reply I wasnt expecting it to be this fast.

sochin101
1/17/2009 6:43pm,
Ok,

I wouldn't necessarily say aikido is the sort of art that translates as good for self-defence for a newcomer.
Some jujitsu is good, some of it is lazy karate with wristlocks. There are a few different styles of ju/jiu-jitsu, the Brazilian kind being particularly well-thought of.