PDA

View Full Version : cuttin weight

jstringfellow
12/09/2008 1:03pm,
hey, i am new to the world of mma, so please excuse any dumb questions.
I need to cut 20lbs by jan. 30th. i know i have enough time, but i have never had to cut weight before so i was hoping that i could get your advice on what workouts would be best for cutting the weight...............and how long should someboby train before they have there first mma fight?

GhostOfKimura
12/09/2008 1:04pm,
Welcome to Bullshido, the best Martial Arts forum on the entire Internet, jstringfellow. Seriously, you won't regret your choice to join us. We're a great bunch of folks, except for Hannibal. And Sirc. And TaiGip. And MMA Kid. And... well, you get the point.

BoonDog
12/09/2008 2:02pm,
Use the search function and see if there are already any threads related to weight loss. Also, why do you need to lose the weight?

jstringfellow
12/09/2008 2:13pm,
well...i tring to get a fight with ringrulers....i am 225 now and i dont want to fight as a heavyweight so im gonna cut down to 205.....if they let me fight the fights will be on Jan30th.....but even if they dont let me fight i still want to cut down to 185 eventually

KO'd N DOA
12/09/2008 2:17pm,
Hi Jstringfellow,

Welcome to Bullshido. (Isn't it nice to start over again, listen to advice)

So your cutting weight has nothing to do with your other thread, as you are starting over.
As you have time, you do not want to cut water at this point. Train hard and reduce the grains, make sure you drink lots of water to stave off hunger.

Unfortunately it is feast season. Good luck!

jstringfellow
12/10/2008 9:07am,
thank you ....and yes i am starting over....is there any specific workouts that will help me shoot for the takedown faster?

jheers11
12/10/2008 9:55am,
heres a site: http://www.grapplearts.com/How-to-Cut-Weight.html?c=150&a=4147