PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

asev0
9/20/2008 3:13am,
Newb here, just checking this place out.

My name's Stephanie and my experience is pretty erratic as I'm at the whims of money. I studied karate for 3 years, stopped for a year, and then did judo just this last year in college. Money problems have forced me to take a year off classes to work, but I'm looking to get back into studying -some- kind of martial art. I don't know which, yet, but maybe I'll find some inspiration (and a good dojo) here.

Cheers.

GhostOfKimura
9/20/2008 3:14am,
We knew you could do it! asev0 posted, YAY! And if a bot is this rude, just imagine harsh this is gonna be. Hope you're wearing a thick gi.

Frank White
9/20/2008 3:16am,
Hello there, Steph! (can I call you Steph?)

So, whereabouts might you be attending college?

asev0
9/20/2008 3:30am,
I go (went?) to Reed College in Portland, OR. Unfortunately, I'm back home in Southern California (Orange County, to be more precise) until next fall or so.

And yes, you can call me Steph.

Frank White
9/20/2008 3:48am,
Orange County, you don't say! I myself attended Fullerton!

Have you considered studying the fine art of Chinese Boxing?

Many instructors are considerate of the financial hardships students face, and base tuition on other factors.

hpr
9/20/2008 4:16am,
If you liked it just continue judo. It's cheap and practical!

asev0
9/20/2008 4:47am,
Haha, yeah. I had a lot of fun with judo, though I'm not entirely sure I want to keep doing just grappling.

Chinese Boxing also sounds rather appealing. Really, I'm open to about any style, right now. What it comes down to, for me, is finding a good place that I can afford. Good means a lot of things, but in particular I'd like quality instructors with high expectations who are serious about teaching what they know. Still vague, but I think it rules out a lot of places I'm finding online.