PDA

View Full Version : Hi, newbie here.

Pages : [1] 2

pillsbury
8/25/2008 3:06pm,
Hey, name's Pillsbury, nice to meetcha. I'll start by saying I'm a complete retard when it comes to knowledge of martial arts so expect lots of dumb instigations, queries and conclusions from me. However my dear sweet mother taught me good ethics so while I am a complete newbie I am not a troll.:sad1:

I used to do a martial arts... at first I thought it was taekwondo but then someone said it was sung do...or whatever the heck that is.... I quit because of homework but now that I think about it, the classes sucked because all we ever really did was forms.

Anyway! I like martial arts like the rest of you, even though I don't know anything, and I might get back into it soon. But I have no clue what else I should try out. I am looking primarily for an unarmed self-defense style. (though they probably all are....:5bomb:)

Anyone want to be my friend? :P

TKDBot
8/25/2008 3:07pm,
BULL RUSH ON pillsbury!!!

pillsbury
8/25/2008 3:08pm,
WTF you guys have bots?!

Lu Tze
8/25/2008 3:19pm,
Welcome to Bullshido.

Be careful of TKDbot, he may get angry at your poor referee decisions and ineffectually kick you in the face!

I'm contractually obliged to nutride Judo, so I'll start out by recommending you try that. Although there are plenty of other decent martial arts, apparently...

Tersi
8/25/2008 3:20pm,
Yep. They're everywhere.

Welcome here!

Are you looking more for striking (punches and kicks) or grappling (judo, wrestling)? Either of them is fun, but it's different kind of fun.

DKJr
8/25/2008 3:24pm,
Boxing is always a good choice too, however if you looking for something more martial arty (its word a swear) try BJJ, Sambo, and Judo for your grappling. Muay thai I love recommending for its great workout and skills.

pillsbury
8/25/2008 3:28pm,