PDA

View Full Version : Hello, complete newbie needs advice

Pages : [1] 2 3

Marshal-Banana
12/03/2003 5:37pm,
Hello everyone, Iím new to both these forums and martial arts in general. Hi!

I just signed up for a few months of shotokan karate. Iíve been reading about it on the internet, and 9 out of 10 things I hear about martial arts are bad. I just wanted everyoneís opinion and make sure I havenít signed up for a McDojo, or something Iíll regret later.

My first two lessons were ďtrial lessonsĒ. I paid 20 bucks (Canadian) for a uniform and 2 hours of instruction. I was paired with an instructor (the owners of the dojo were a husband and wife teamÖI havenít met them yet) who taught me basic dojo etiquette (bow before you go in, junior ranks at the back of the class, ect), walked me through the beginning warm-up and stretches, and finally taught me a few punches and kicks. At the end of the second session, we went into an office. I first watched a video (a promo of the school) which the instructor and I ignored while we talked, then went over payment options for classes. The instructor wanted me to sign up for a years worth of classes. I was very hesitant at committing to a year contract, and eventually got her to agree to a 2 month thing.

The people seem nice, the school seems reputable, there is regular sparring and many of their students compete in regional tournaments. However, her hard-on for the year contract and the fact I hadnít been able to participate with the rest of the class has made me nervous.

Does this sound like a school Iíd want to go to?

Stold3
12/03/2003 5:40pm,
1 year contracts are a big warning sign, but...describe the sparring?

Marshal-Banana
12/03/2003 5:43pm,
It starts at yellow belt (the belts go white, yellow, orange, green, blue, brown, black) and it was described as "light contact".

When you get into the orange or green belts, the intructor called it "moderate contact"

Wu De
12/03/2003 5:46pm,