PDA

View Full Version : New to the Site, MA...

Feel the Burn
11/30/2003 10:13pm,
Hello everyone, I'm quite interested in the Martial Arts, but have never had a chance to study anything. Over the summer I became friends with a guy...he and his 2 brothers are cage fighters in Lexington, KY. They all seem very knowledgeable about this stuff. I became very interested in mixed MA and decided that it would be something I want to pursue in college (I just turned 18). I have been looking at this kind of stuff on the internet, but I would like to start training soon. I would just like some recommendations and advice from anyone.

I'm about 5'11 185 lbs...
I'm in the Louisville, KY area
I'm in very good shape, I was an all-City running back in High School, and I lift weights and run semi-regularly (need to do that more)
I have no previous MA experience, but I wrestle people pretty frequently, including trained grapplers/wrestlers, and I feel I have a better than average grasp of groundwork and general grappling tactics.

I would like to eventually learn multiple styles, but I would like some reccomendations of how/where to start, maybe some workout regimens or stretches. Also, my friends who are into Ultimate Fighting do special excersises to toughen their bones...mostly fists, elbows, feet, and shins. Should I start doing this?

If someone knowledgable could give me some good advice, I would be most grateful. Especially through recommending a good school/training facility/instructor.

J-kid
11/30/2003 10:18pm,
Well welcome and STFUNooB..

You probley want to do some MMA so look into MTKickboxing Boxing Judo Brazilian Jujitsu Wrestling etc.....MMA in general.

Nihilanthic
11/30/2003 10:23pm,
Wrestle in school, do boxing somewhere, most cities have that...

If you find a Judo place, which most cities have too, good for you, just ask if they'll ever do non-olympic stuff like double leg takedownds and ground work. Take what you can get but don't be afraid to ask for more.