PDA

View Full Version : McDojo's and the Great Master Mythos?

Pages : [1] 2

MarkT13
6/11/2008 5:47pm,
I've been a perpetual MA beginner over the years - TaeKwonDo, Shotokan, Chito Ryo, etc. - the schools haved folded or I have moved and since I've lived in rural areas, it's usually awhile before I can find another MA school that seems decent and close enough to get to regulary.

Anyway, my question is does the Great Master Mythos - amazing stories about how a key figure in the history (not ancient, but within the last generation or 2) of the style/art can do amazing demonstrations of skill -- these stories are very common. Would these types of unproven stories (usually second or third hand accounts at best) be evidence of the McDojo type of school or are they just common place to attract younger members and create some excitement around the gym? They aren't usually the local Sensei/Shihan, but someone once or twice removed.

I recall that when UFC was first getting popular, there were several threads on the Dojang Digest and other MA related newsgroups asking why these great masters of the traditional Japanese and Korean MA styles (the styles which Americans tended to first think of when hearing about MA) weren't getting in and cleaning up. The answer was, of course, that they were above all of that.

Any thoughts (on how much of red flag such stories pushed around a MA school should be considered)?

Thanks!

AikidoBot
6/11/2008 5:48pm,
So MarkT13, you decided to go ahead and register huh? Cool. Don't forget to review your dojo (http://www.bullshido.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=83).

G-Off
6/11/2008 8:41pm,
Oh yes. Story in my association of the grandmaster falling off a church steeple and popping right up off the ground because he fell with proper break-fall technique.

aaaargh
6/12/2008 6:56am,