PDA

View Full Version : ACOG

Pages : [1] 2

Rock Ape
5/16/2008 12:30pm,
Apparently we Brits are getting the ACOG to replace the SUSAT on our IW, I'd appreciate any comments/opinions on this optical as I've never used it before.

--Dave

Yrkoon9
5/17/2008 4:10am,
I love my ACOG.

Through a drug deal one of my NCO's got the armorer to get my M68 replaced by an ACOG. It's slightly different than the older ones. Has horizontal lines in addition to the chevron.

I have an ACOG on my PERSONAL weapon at home and will never sell it. I got the TA33-8 with the yellow reticle. I make shots I shouldn't be able to.

People want to argue over the Eotech 1x, the M68 red dot, and the ACOG 3-4x. I think it's personal preference and trigger time on what you like. But after buying my own ACOG and having the armorer put one on my weapon at work I am a believer. If they only made ACOG flavored koolaid I would drink it.

mrm1775
5/17/2008 4:28am,
It kicks ass! The magnification is just high enough to make long shots but it is still quick enough for close work. Range estimation is also idiot proof: just line up the bad guy with the line that is just as wide as he is and pull the trigger. New ones even have a mil scale for artillery spotting, so you can leave the binos at home. The damn thing is also more durable than even your iron sights. Aside from one with a manufacturing defect (canted reticle) I can't even remember seeing one break in three years of using them.

Virtually every grunt in the Marine Corps is issued one now. You can't get a better endorsement than that.

Rock Ape
5/17/2008 4:51am,
Cheers guys, appreciate it, our present optical sight is x4 mag with a field of view of 177mm and uses a trilux lamp to illuminate a vertical reticule, and I understand the ACOG is a 'red dot' is that correct?

I was also told last week that the ACOG has adjustment for windage - our sight you merely have to aim off are there any other features of the ACOG worth mentioning ?

--Dave

mrm1775