PDA

View Full Version : Doninha's Guide to Capoeira

Pages : [1] 2

doninha
5/12/2008 4:04pm,
Well, since most people on this board like to **** on Capoeira without having any experience with it (you bastards), allow me to add my expertise and give you a reasonably accurate portrayal of what Capoeira is and is not.

(Disclaimer: I have been playing Capoeira for more than ten years, and teaching for almost eight. I am not a Mestre, but I have enough experience with Capoeira and other martial arts to know what works effectively and what doesn't. My views are solely my own and will probably get me into plenty of fights in the rodas of other Capoeiristas that disagree. But they most likely won't be trying to fight me with Capoeira. Cause it don't work all that well when you're just trying to beat someone up. And this guide only refers to Capoeira Contemporanea)

First, let me portray the basic combat techniques of Capoeira. I'll see if I can scrounge up some specific videos later.

Meia Lua de Compasso (aka Rabo de Arraia) - A spinning heel kick supported by one hand on the ground. This kick is exclusively a head kick, as solid contact with the body would knock the practitioner over or damage the knee joint. The kicking leg is kept completely straight throughout the technique and power is generated primarily through the spinning of the hips. Low percentage move, especially against a trained fighter, even if you're VERY good at it.

Meia Lua de Frente (aka Meia Lua) - An outside to inside front crescent kick. Not much to say here. Again, straight leg (usually) and only to the head. Lacks any sort of meaningful power, even when done very well. I consider it a guiding kick and nothing more.

Quiexada - An inside to outside crescent kick, usually thrown from a side dodge. More power than the previous kick, but same rules apply. Kick to the head only, straight leg, power comes from turning the hips.