PDA

View Full Version : Canadian Law and MMA in Ontario -- or the lackthereof

Pages : [1] 2

gallantknight
4/29/2008 11:55pm,
NOTE - I'm bad at finding the right forum to put things like this in, but since this is general discussion for MA, I'm hoping it'll be fine to put this little speal here.

Alright, so I'm an aspiring law student (maybe) and for my final report for Grade 12 Law, I decided to write about the legalization of MMA in Ontario.

That was a couple months ago. Upon doing some research, I've come to realize that I feel rather strongly about the issue... and that I'd perhaps like to take this case up further than just handing it in as a report.

So without further adieu, I'd like to summarize some of my arguments, while realizing that I'm quite certain that they need polishing. I'd also like to know what kind of procedures would be involved in this stuff really getting attention.

The Law in Question from Criminal Code
Section 83(1) Engaging in prize fight 83. (1) Every one who (a) engages as a principal in a prize fight, (b) advises, encourages or promotes a prize fight, or (c) is present at a prize fight as an aid, second, surgeon, umpire, backer or reporter, is guilty of an offence punishable on summary conviction. 83(2) Definition of "prize fight" (2) In this section, "prize fight" means an encounter or fight with fists or hands between two persons who have met for that purpose by previous arrangement made by or for them, but a boxing contest between amateur sportsmen, where the contestants wear boxing gloves of not less than one hundred and forty grams each in mass, or any boxing contest held with the permission or under the authority of an athletic board or commission or similar body established by or under the authority of the legislature of a province for the control of sport within the province, shall be deemed not to be a prize fight.

Main Idea