PDA

View Full Version : Crosstraining and becoming a well-rounded martial artist.

Pages : [1] 2

Henshin-a-gogo
3/19/2008 4:52pm,
Greetings all, I'm a n00b (clearly :P) to bullshido and I'm looking for advice on a solid grappling art. I have 9 years of experience in ITF TKD so i reckon I have the striking down. I'm looking for info on where BJJ stands in regards standing techniques and whether there are other styles with a more rounded approach to grappling than the (apparently) "shoot and mount" of BJJ. Please don't kill me for the generalisation, I have no BJJ experience whatsoever. Any relevant info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!! :D

AikidoBot
3/19/2008 4:53pm,
Welcome to the Bullshido Forums Henshin-a-gogo... Make sure you review your dojo (http://www.bullshido.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=83) and add it to your user control panel so you can get the http://www.bullshido.net/images/dojoreview1.gif icon in your user info bar in your posts.

Mas
3/19/2008 4:57pm,
Welcome to Bullshido.

Though I am a little biased, arguably Judo encompasses more elements to grappling than does most BJJ. It does depend on the school and instructor, for both BJJ and Judo, but in my experience Judo tends to have both throws and groundwork, while BJJ generally is majority groundwork.

I think "shoot and mount" is a gross generalization, them's fightin' words 'round these parts.

Hedgehogey
3/19/2008 4:58pm,
There are going to be people who tell you to do about fifty different grappling arts at once.

**** those people. Do BJJ, Judo, or Sambo and enjoy it.

Though I am a little biased, arguably Judo encompasses more elements to grappling than does most BJJ. It does depend on the school and instructor, for both BJJ and Judo, but in my experience Judo tends to have both throws and groundwork, while BJJ generally is majority groundwork.

Noone's yet come close to completing my Kosen Judo scavenger hunt, so hahahahaha bitter judoka.

Henshin-a-gogo
3/19/2008 5:01pm,