PDA

View Full Version : Noob Question- Spazzing Out

Fishgod
2/27/2008 12:12am,
Hey everybody. I've been coming to this site for a little over 3 months, specifically for the Nutrition, PT, Health thread, on recommendation by a guy at the academy I'm training at. It's answered quite a few questions and given me a heads up on things to watch out for. Thanks to all the members and mods. Anyway, on to the question.

I started training in BJJ about five months ago and hadn't really done much martial arts before that point. I took some TKD in middle school and had some judo based off what a few friends had showed me but beyond that I am teh noobage. Up until this month my rolling was pretty standard- more or less just getting comfortable with grappling and building strength and learning to keep the **** from out that triangle. Recently people have started commenting on my "agressiveness" and "squash technique". I wasn't sure how to take this- I hadn't really noticed much change in my game beyond getting tapped out less. Yesterday I was rolling with another white belt and I put an armbar on at what I thought was the right speed and he tapped immediatly and sat out for the rest of sparring. I did too because I was sort of shocked. I don't want to be that spazzy whitebelt who no one wants to roll with. Beyond going slower and trying to keep things copacetic when I roll, is there anything I can do?

Thanks.

BJJbot
2/27/2008 12:13am,
Welcome aboard, Fishgod! The Bullshido staff would welcome you personally, but the thing is they’re busy keeping the peace, so they’ve apointed me, a bot, to pat you on the back and assure you that in no way will you be harmed during your stay here at BS.net. Your views on the martial arts, your philosphy, maybe even your entire reason for being will be challenged, shattered, reorganized, melted down, and forged into something new and shiny, but we swear it will only hurt a little bit… at first.

Kentucky Fried Chokin
2/27/2008 12:17am,