PDA

View Full Version : Looking in to mma school. . .

Exiledsoul
1/26/2008 2:29pm,
So im looking in to this school www.combinedmartialscience.com (http://www.combinedmartialscience.com) Im new to all this so any help would be grate. Im just dont want to waist my time if the school ends up being some mcdojo. If anyeon knows anything about this school or any schools in the Upland, Pomona, Rancho cucamonga CA area that they would recommend that would be cool to.

Tanhalen21
1/26/2008 2:57pm,
Yeah, just reading the home page of that site it seems a bit mcdojoish. I don't know anything about the place, but when these are the focuses:
#
Build Self Confidence
#
Develop Respect for others
#
Increase self-esteem
#
Increase Concentration

And they say this: "An experienced black-belt martial artist teaches classes in a non-aggressive manner. A large portion of our program is devoted to the mental disciplines."

It seems a little fishy

Exiledsoul
1/26/2008 3:10pm,
Ya I was some what thinking the same thing. But then again I see that more for the kid class they have. I could see them puting that up there for the parents to fill like there kids arnt going to get hurt and fill like there going to get more then fighting skills out of it.

Tanhalen21
1/26/2008 3:21pm,
Also, it weirds me out a little that they have MMA classes and "JuJitsu" classes (not necessarily BJJ), and kickboxing classes (not necessarily muay thai).

sempaiman
1/26/2008 3:55pm,
I always get leary of the multiple blackbelts that an instructor has. To earn 7th and 4th degree black in seemingly opposite martial arts in 30years is a stretch. Than tack on a few other lower black belts also, what does he train 24hrs a day...........

Exiledsoul
1/26/2008 4:16pm,
Thanks for all your input. Its just hard to find a good place to train. I fill like every place I go to is like this. So if anyone knows a place close to Upland CA at all that would be cool.

Purpleskunk
1/26/2008 4:56pm,