PDA

View Full Version : Howdy

sartorious
1/16/2008 7:30am,
Hey, all!

I'm a 31 y/o new newbie looking to resume training after a few years' absence. Most of my previous martial art practice (about 2-3 years) was in aikido.

Currently, I'm thinking of beginning two different styles because I can't seem to find a single style incorporating striking and grappling, while being accessible and having a solid reputation. From my 24 hours of lurking, I gather a combination of judo/BJJ and muay thai is a good starting plan, but I'm open to suggestions.

BJJbot
1/16/2008 7:31am,
Welcome to Bullshido, the best Martial Arts forum on the entire Internet, sartorious. Seriously, you won't regret your choice to join us. We're a great bunch of folks, except for Hannibal. And Sirc. And TaiGip. And MMA Kid. And... well, you get the point.

pauli
1/16/2008 10:37am,
welcome to bullshido!

first step: find the quality schools near you.

second step: figure out what they teach.

sartorious
1/17/2008 6:05am,
Thanks for the advice! It always seems so much easier to take things in the other direction, but the most important thing is a good instructor/school.

leec123
1/18/2008 8:50am,
Thanks for the advice! It always seems so much easier to take things in the other direction, but the most important thing is a good instructor/school.

Absolutely, there are numerous threads on here that give good advise on what to look for in an instructor/ school. Also check out the threads on contracts-mucho good advise on saving you money and hassle

Good luck in finding a school and keep us posted.

But for the record, you seem to have a good sense for what you want, it may be worth looking even slightly further afield for a good school in one of the styles you mentioned.

sartorious
1/19/2008 7:28pm,
But for the record, you seem to have a good sense for what you want, it may be worth looking even slightly further afield for a good school in one of the styles you mentioned.