PDA

View Full Version : New to everything -- advice greatly appreciated

Pages : [1] 2 3

daysleeper
1/16/2008 3:50am,
Hi all,

I came upon this site while searching for info on what might be a good place to go in my area (Crystal Lake, IL vicinity) to learn Tae Kwon Do. Yes, I read the rule
{9. Tae Kwon Do bashing is acceptable, but only if you can bring some new analysis to the table.}

which leads me to believe it isn't looked upon too favorably here, but it does sound interesting to me.
Well, any insight the members here have to give is helpful to me. Obviously, I don't want to waste any time at a school that has a bad reputation, but I'm finding little in the way of knowing what kind of places to avoid.

For reference: I have ZERO prior Martial Arts experience, I'm female, 36, and in internet addict physical condition.

Oh, I should probably explain why I want to learn? Self-defense, primarily. For example this last weekend when a group of us were being stalked by a drunken, hostile idiot. Not carrying pepper spray, I felt very vulnerable. I want something practical, in a situation like that. I've also just have an interest in martial arts... I think I've watched every episode of Human Weapon at least twice and it fascinates me. I'm not afraid to get hit or kicked, but I'm really not looking to wrestle anyone.
Once somebody is dazed or on the ground, i plan to run.

Also, since I have a lot of leg strength but little upper body strength, something with a strong kicking focus seems wise.

Your thoughts?

:5help:!!

KungFuBot
1/16/2008 3:51am,
Welcome to Bullshido, the best Martial Arts forum on the entire Internet, daysleeper. Seriously, you won't regret your choice to join us. We're a great bunch of folks, except for Hannibal. And Sirc. And TaiGip. And MMA Kid. And... well, you get the point.

JohanSon
1/16/2008 5:51am,
Hello daysleeper.